BT Young Scientist Best Group Winners 2024

The BT Young Scientist competition celebrates 60 years this year and once again Loreto Balbriggan has been placed in the top four finalists in the competition in the RDS. Congratulations to Abigail O’Brien Murray, Olivia O’Shea and Erica O’Brien Murray who were awarded ‘Best Group Winners 2024’ Their win adds to the school’s incredible success in the competition over the years. Their project ‘Lets Save the Common Ash’ attracted much attention, from the judges who were impressed by the girls’ thorough research and commitment to their project. The girls also won the prestigious Teagasc award. Their project was a follow up study to their 2023 project on ash dieback. This year they looked at the positive effects of Jasmonic and Salicylic acid on inhibiting dieback in ash trees. The school is very proud of their achievment keeping STEM to the forefront. The girls’ commitment and work ethic to their project is to be admired. They are amazing role models for all other potential BT Young Scientists in the school. Many thanks to Mr. Toomey for his encouragement and expertise in guiding the girls in the competition.