Junior Prizegiving

Junior Prizegiving took place on Wednesday. Prizegiving has been an integral part of the school calendar since the school was established in 1857. This whole school occasion provides an opportunity for the school to recognise both the academic and extracurricular efforts and achievements of students.

Academic Endeavour Award.


Academic Awards. This award acknowledges academic excellence and recognises those students who have excelled in their subject area. We are celebrating a number of students from each subject area. In addition, a Certificate of outstanding Academic excellence is awarded to those students who have won more than 2 individual subject awards.


First Year 

Congratulations to the following students who were awarded an Outstanding Academic Achievement Award.


Nan Richardson Kavanagh         Irish, Maths, Business & French.

Aisling Ni Aonghusa                     Irish, Home Economics & Science

Aoife Zhang                                   Music, History


Congratulations to the following students who were awarded an Academic Award.

Olivia O’Sullivan  Irish

Jayla Farrell, Izzy Gaughen, Julia Buek English

Robyn Foster Rebecca O’Connell Maths

Muireann Bagley,Ella Nicholson,Phoebe Macken P.E

Eibhin Colman, Marie-Clare Delaney, History.

Zitem Okafor,Chloe Ricart,Hazel Larkin Geography


Aoibha Carroll,Emilija Rondzaite,Rebecca Pop Buia    Art

Aisling Murphy Olwyn McCabe Business

Emma Tusamba,Seoda Campion French


Emma Kearney, Whitney Ebeleghe.   German

Pulari Saji, Gemma Curran.      Home Economics

Kaylin Walker.                Music

Nessa Farrell, Ciara Bassett Science

Ola Sikora, Shantel Uduehi Technology


First Year Sports Awards.

Athletics:                       Isabel O’Dea

Basketball:                      Whitney Ebeleghe

Camogie:                        Faye Hardy

Gaelic Football:              Phoebe Macken

Hockey:                          Aisling Murphy

Soccer:                           Muireann Bagley

Equestrian:                     Ailbhe Hartford

Golf:                              Muireann Bagley

Volleyball:                      Zofia Marek

Badminton:                    Aisling Ni Aonghusa



Second  Year

Congratulations to the following students who were awarded an Outstanding Academic Achievement Award.

Aoife Boylan                         Irish, English, Maths, Science

Cara Mullen                         English, Science, Maths

Cara McDonagh                  Irish, Geography, German

Elyse Jones                           Geography, Art, Home Economics

Natalie Brys                          English, French, Business

Reethekka Koodalingam     History, Business

Caitlin Clarke                      Art, History

Laoise O’Connor                  Geography, Art.


Congratulations to the following students who were awarded an Academic Excellence Award.

Emily Gorman: Irish.

Holly Harpur: History.

Emma Dowling: Business.

Emmalise O’Boyle: German.

Amelie Dubos, Paige Walsh Larkin: French.

Rachel Kennedy, Hayley Lyons: Home Economics.

Sophie Rennicks, Nell Richardson Kavanagh, Megan Nolan: P.E.

Ella Finnegan, Anna Kozak: Music.

Heather Dredge, Maryum Imaan. Technology.



Second Year Sports Awards.

Athletics:                 Emer Fanning

Basketball:               Naoise Delves

Camogie:                 Rachel Kennedy

Gaelic Football:        Lile Tully

Hockey:                   Anna McNally

Soccer:                     Ruby Chidgey

Equestrian:              Julia White

Golf:                        Lily Clarke

Volleyball:               Sofia Gilewska

Badminton:            Natalia Brys.




Rafaella Costin Award.


This award is in memory and tribute to our dear Rafaella.

Rafaella embraced every aspect of school life. There are some who bring a light so great to the world that even after they have gone the light remains. This light burns so brightly here in Loreto Balbriggan. This special award will recognise a student’s outstanding participation in school life and who has given generously of themselves to the school community. This year’s recipient was Emma Dowling.


Third Year

Congratulations to the following students who were awarded an Outstanding Academic Achievement Award.


Ella O’Connell                             Irish, English, Business, French

Grace Cohen                                 Maths, History, Science

Jessica Chen                                 Art, History, Maths

Susan Masterson                          Music English

Alana O’Connor                          Science, Maths

Sarah Barlow                               Business, Art



Third Year Sports Award

Athletics:                 Eabha O’Farrell

Basketball:               Aine Liston

Camogie:                 Lucy Caulfield

Gaelic Football:        Aoibh Doyle

Hockey:                   Susan Masterson

Soccer:                     Aoife Russell

Equestrian:               Eimear Keogh

Volleyball:               Stella Cooke Racheva

Badminton:              Jemma Thomas




Third Year Perpetual Awards.

Junior Sports Person  Lucy Rooney.


Junior Mary Ward Award